+

Queer Spirit Podcast Exhibit Launch Party

New Exhibit Launch Party: Queer Spirit Podcast
Thursday, August 22, 2024
5:00PM Pacific/6:00pm Mountain/7:00pm Central/8:00pm Eastern
Register Here.

Kristofer Stinson, Ph.D., curator
Rev. Dr. Marvin Ellison & Rev. Tamara Torres McGovern, podcast producers

Queer Spirit was a radio show-turned-podcast that first aired in 2019 on OUT Cast radio, an LGBTQ+ talk show in Maine. Queer Spirit was a series of interviews with queer spiritual leaders in Maine that explored queer life and the power of the sacred as each worked to hold together their sexuality and spirituality.  Thanks to the generosity of the Haney-Leighton Fund, LGBTQ-RAN invited Kristofer Stinson, Ph.D. to be the curator for this online exhibit. The exhibit not only houses the collection of podcast interviews but contextualizes the formation of the podcast and the history of the queer OUT Cast radio show. Additionally, the exhibit is set up as a guide for how others may produce their own podcast series and culminates in teaching resources that enable educators to bring Queer Spirit into the classroom. At the launch party on August 22, Kristofer will interview the producers of Queer Spirit, Marvin Ellison and Tamara Torres-McGovern, before providing a walk-through of the exhibit itself. We hope you’ll join us as we share the stories of those whose lives are a testament to the ways sexuality and spirituality are of the same spirit.

Kristofer Stinson, Ph.D., is a historian of religion in America and is pursuing an M.Div. at Princeton Theological Seminary. His scholarship has examined such themes as religion, empire, sexuality, and stories and he is currently completing a book on the history of archaeology and religion. Kristofer was a longtime member of the Church of the Nazarene before having to resign his membership and ministry in 2021 due to his sexuality. He then became part of the Presbyterian Church, USA where he still serves today.

Rev. Dr. Marvin Ellison is a theological educator for justice who taught social ethics at Bangor Theological Seminary for over three decades.  The author of “Erotic Justice” and “Making Love Just,” from 2019 to 2022 he co-hosted with Tamara Torres McGovern a Maine community radio interview series entitled “Queer Spirit: Queer Life and the Power of the Sacred.”

Rev. Tamara Torres McGovern is Head of Programs at First Congregational Church of Greeley, Colorado.